Username: Password:

Author Topic: Gutiar fingerboards reaction to fast fret?  (Read 8458 times)

_tom_

• Middleweight
Gutiar fingerboards reaction to fast fret?
« on: October 10, 2005, 05:30:34 PM »
I wiped some fastfret type stuff on my acoustics fingerboard/strings last night, as they havent been cleaned for ages. Today I go to play it and notice the fingerboard has loads of white bits appeared from no where, I guess the grain has reacted to the stuff? It doesnt affect its playability or anything as it still feels all smooth, but it doesnt look very nice! Its a rosewood fingerboard I think. Should I let some lemon oil soak in next time I change strings? (also, itd be a good thing if someone could give me a how-to on changing acoustic strings as I've never done it before, its one of those bridges with the push in pin bits)

Cheers!

chrisola

• Welterweight
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2005, 05:42:15 PM »
its just the fast fret stuff finding its way into the pores of the wood... dont think it damages it any, my m8 uses fast fret on his bass, has done for years and his strings\neck still feels great (same strings for about 2 years lol)
"Turbo F***ing Spinning PILEDRIVER!!!"

_tom_

• Middleweight
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2005, 05:46:44 PM »
hmm ok, it does look pretty cr@p though! I've never noticed it on any other guitars before..

Davey

• Welterweight
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2005, 05:58:09 PM »
never had a problem with it on my guitar... till one of the guys stole the fakkin thing cos it made the strings feel like new.

havent seen it in stores since

38thBeatle

• Middleweight
    • http://www.myspace.com/alteregoukband
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2005, 08:26:14 PM »
I got a new tube at the weekend. I still have a metal Fast Fret container from years back- much better than the modern plastic jobs. I remember buying several tubes from Manny's in NYC for my mates along with Manny's plectrums ( or should that be plectra)- they thought it was cool- the fools.