Username: Password:

Author Topic: s1 switch  (Read 5239 times)

tech33

  • Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 51
s1 switch
« on: August 12, 2005, 08:30:37 AM »
Was wondering if anyone had come across a problem with the fender s1 type switch??
Have fitted a custmers mule humbucker in a fender american tele, normal pickup in the bridge, have kept the same wiring colour codes, and have tried flipping the hot and grounds over, but the s1 switch always fails to work in one of the postions, was wondering if anyone had come acroos this before and if the had a solution??
Have tried Fender and they are less than useless. so any help would gratefully recieved
can you do it while i wait?

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
s1 switch
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2005, 09:11:26 AM »
I presume you've metered the swicth to check it's not duff?
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

tech33

  • Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 51
s1 switch
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2005, 05:10:01 PM »
i have. And i think  the fact that the problem moves when you change the eart and hot around discounts the swithch being faulty. Dont know much about the s1, it seems to be a bit like a prs 5 way, but on a preset.
I did advise the customer that changing the pickup could affect the switch, he didnt seem concerned at the time, he is now though!!
Still trying different wiring combinations.
can you do it while i wait?

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
s1 switch
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2005, 10:01:05 PM »
Hmmm... :?:
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

Joe Dorcia

  • Featherweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 320
    • http://www.bythedorciadeceived.com
s1 switch
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2005, 05:49:27 PM »
Hey Kev,

On my strat the S-1 switch didnt change the tone in all the positions. Have a look a the website to see how many it changes. On the strat you would presume it gives 5 normal tones with the S-1 out and 5 different tones with the s-1 in, but know, theres only 7 or 8 in total i think, not 10.

Saying that: -

Quote
S-1 Switch Up:
Position 1. Bridge Pickup
Position 2. Bridge Pickup in Parallel with Neck Humbucking Pickup (Both Coils in Parallel)
Position 3. Neck Humbucking Pickup with Coils in Parallel

S-1 Switch Down:
Position 1. Bridge Pickup in Series with Inside Coil of Neck Humbucking Pickup
Position 2. Bridge Pickup in Series with Neck Humbucking Pickup (Both Coils in Series)
Position 3. Neck Humbucking Pickup with Coils in Series


Thats for a Tele, which position doesn't work?

Joe
Yours,

Dorcia #861

PhilKing

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3654
s1 switch
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2005, 06:44:34 PM »
From that list it almost looks like a series/parallel switch for the neck humbucker.  The only thing that stops it is position 1 of the switch down.
So many pickups, so little time

FELINEGUITARS

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 6609
  • London & Southeast's Number 1 BKP stockist
    • http://www.felineguitars.com
s1 switch
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2005, 12:56:10 AM »
I'm just thinking that the colour codes from a BKP will be different to whatever fender were fitting - could this be part of the problem?
www.felineguitars.com - repairs & custom built
Great fretwork!
Buy your BKPs & Earvana from ME!

R/2e

  • Bantamweight
  • **
  • Posts: 210
    • http://www.ron2e.com
s1 switch
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2005, 08:32:50 PM »
Just 'cos you're paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get you

Tim

  • BKP
  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 1918
    • http://www.bareknucklepickups.co.uk
s1 switch
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2005, 08:44:27 PM »
Well done Ron, great link! That answers alot of questions.
Tim
BKP - "Wound, made and played the traditional way --- by hand!" Amen.

Bainzy

  • Lightweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
    • http://www.shredaholic.com
s1 switch
« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2005, 12:05:14 AM »
wow them podxt clips on that link sound really good!

tech33

  • Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 51
s1 switch
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2005, 04:01:05 PM »
thanks for all the responses guys, ended up hotwiring as a comprimise.
can you do it while i wait?

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
s1 switch
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2005, 05:33:56 PM »
That's the :!:  way to do it....!
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner