Username: Password:

Author Topic: 2 meg pots? Where?  (Read 3337 times)

Madiac

  • Bantamweight
  • **
  • Posts: 208
2 meg pots? Where?
« on: February 28, 2009, 12:03:16 PM »
I think ive decided to do one little mod to the Feline SG, not because theres anything wrong with the pots, but after asking Tim first i decided that im gonna put some 2 meg volume pots in it (disconnected tone pots) and push it to the extreme, now to be honest the tone already has alot of bite and treble so i might push it too far, but i have to try it! Tim thought it was a good idea, which is a little encouraging atleast haha. The problem is, where can i order these within Europe, some high quality ones.
Furthermore, how do i tell if i need long or short shaft pots?
« Last Edit: February 28, 2009, 02:50:41 PM by Madiac »
Feline Gothic Warpig - Alnico Warpig set

HTH AMPS

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5649
    • HTH AMPS
Re: 2 meg pots? Where?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2009, 07:39:34 PM »
I think ive decided to do one little mod to the Feline SG, not because theres anything wrong with the pots, but after asking Tim first i decided that im gonna put some 2 meg volume pots in it (disconnected tone pots) and push it to the extreme, now to be honest the tone already has alot of bite and treble so i might push it too far, but i have to try it! Tim thought it was a good idea, which is a little encouraging atleast haha. The problem is, where can i order these within Europe, some high quality ones.

2M pots are not that common, you're probably gonna struggle to find some.  Here's what I found...

http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-store/item/ATP-2MS/2-MEG-AUDIO-TAPER-POT/-/1.html

https://taweber.powweb.com/store/potsord.htm

Furthermore, how do i tell if i need long or short shaft pots?

look inside your guitar's cavity and see if the shafts are long or short.


Madiac

  • Bantamweight
  • **
  • Posts: 208
Re: 2 meg pots? Where?
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2009, 08:17:38 PM »
Ok, ive found a place here in Sweden that sells 1 megs, so i guess that will do, found out they are short-shaft.
Feline Gothic Warpig - Alnico Warpig set

jpfamps

  • Lightweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 767
    • http://www.jpfamps.com
Re: 2 meg pots? Where?
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2009, 03:45:23 PM »
Alpha make 2M pots as well.

If you can't find a pot with the correct shaft length, you can always take the wafer out of a pot with the correct shaft length and replace it with the wafer from a 2M pot.

This is easier than it sounds.

You will need to bend the tabs that hold the secure the pot casing to disassemble the pot. You can then change the wafers over and reassemble the pot, bending the tabs back to fix the casing in place.

I've used this "trick" loads of times on knackered pots with unusual fittings.

If you are worried about your ability to do this, try is out on some "disposable" pots first.



Madiac

  • Bantamweight
  • **
  • Posts: 208
Re: 2 meg pots? Where?
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2009, 05:39:20 PM »
Thanks, but i decided 1 megs will be enough :)
Feline Gothic Warpig - Alnico Warpig set

jpfamps

  • Lightweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 767
    • http://www.jpfamps.com
Re: 2 meg pots? Where?
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2009, 05:50:32 PM »
Probably wise.

As the volume pot is in parallel with the input impedance of your amp (usually 1 M), then you start to experience a law of diminishing returns at higher pot values.