Username: Password:

Author Topic: Boosting low watt amps in the fx loop?  (Read 1956 times)

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
Boosting low watt amps in the fx loop?
« on: May 17, 2009, 10:29:16 AM »
I want to try and use my Blackstar HT5 in a band practice on tuesday but I'm worried about boosting it for solos. Usually I use an EQ pedal in the fx loop. I've only ever used it with a 50w amp which wasnt anywhere near its full volume. With the HT5 I'll probably have to run it on 10 to get the volume.

So basically, will boosting an amp thats allready on full volume damage it?


_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
Re: Boosting low watt amps in the fx loop?
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2009, 11:31:20 AM »
hmm I'll have to check the manual later to see if it says anything about it.. I think that the HT5s are quite a cheaply made amp so I would guess not?

camf

  • Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Boosting low watt amps in the fx loop?
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2009, 06:58:11 PM »
Instead of boosting, have you thought of possibly using the pedal to reduce overall volume for chord work and then turn it off for lead... might keep the white noise down. Just a thought, I was going to try exactly that when I get a GE7.

hunter

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5255
    • http://www.myspace.com/christophjaeger
Re: Boosting low watt amps in the fx loop?
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2009, 10:07:52 PM »
Instead of boosting, have you thought of possibly using the pedal to reduce overall volume for chord work and then turn it off for lead... might keep the white noise down. Just a thought, I was going to try exactly that when I get a GE7.

+1

If it's on 10, the boost will likely not make it any louder but just make it flabby and fart out. I'd rather set it for lead and then adjust for rhythm with the pedal.

However, I'd just try both variants.
Tweaker's Paradise - Player's nightmare.

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
Re: Boosting low watt amps in the fx loop?
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2009, 12:33:06 AM »
Thats a better idea actually. Either way I dont think the blackstar would be loud enough in a 2 guitarist band. Not when the other amp is a 50w into a 4x12.

hunter

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5255
    • http://www.myspace.com/christophjaeger
Re: Boosting low watt amps in the fx loop?
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2009, 07:22:54 AM »
Have you tried slaving the Blackstar with the Laney?

Or what about a W/D rig?  I'd say that would be smoooove  8)
Tweaker's Paradise - Player's nightmare.

hamfist

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 1341
Re: Boosting low watt amps in the fx loop?
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2009, 08:22:42 AM »
Instead of boosting, have you thought of possibly using the pedal to reduce overall volume for chord work and then turn it off for lead... might keep the white noise down. Just a thought, I was going to try exactly that when I get a GE7.

+1

If it's on 10, the boost will likely not make it any louder but just make it flabby and fart out. I'd rather set it for lead and then adjust for rhythm with the pedal.

However, I'd just try both variants.

+1

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
Re: Boosting low watt amps in the fx loop?
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2009, 09:00:21 PM »
Have you tried slaving the Blackstar with the Laney?

Or what about a W/D rig?  I'd say that would be smoooove  8)

What exactly is a wet/dry rig?

I dont know how to slave it either, wouldnt know where to start.

Anyway I might need to sell the Blackstar, it all depends on if I can get a job or not this summer as I dont think the leftovers from my loan will keep my car running until october when my next loan comes :(

hunter

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5255
    • http://www.myspace.com/christophjaeger
Re: Boosting low watt amps in the fx loop?
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2009, 09:49:36 PM »
Have you tried slaving the Blackstar with the Laney?

Or what about a W/D rig?  I'd say that would be smoooove  8)

What exactly is a wet/dry rig?


You run both amps, and one of them is slaved through an effect processor, i.e. delay/reverb stuff. So the main amp always stays dry and you don't get tone degradation from FX in the loop, the other amp is for the effects. It's like W/D/W but with mono FX.
Tweaker's Paradise - Player's nightmare.