Username: Password:

Author Topic: Which cap for tone pot with Apache set?  (Read 3539 times)

Tonewolf

  • Junior Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Which cap for tone pot with Apache set?
« on: November 28, 2005, 12:01:01 AM »
What tone cap do you use?  I'm getting my pickguard ready for a set of Apaches.

Steve-Mr Pig 2U

  • Guest
Which cap for tone pot with Apache set?
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2005, 12:22:07 AM »
I think .22 is standard with singles.

Tonewolf

  • Junior Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Well....
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2005, 11:37:08 AM »
With single coils .1 could be used like the old 50s Fenders or... .5 or .47 like the slightly newer 60s Fenders or... .22 like present day Fenders. (Stratocasters that is)

What is the change in tone though?

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
Which cap for tone pot with Apache set?
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2005, 11:56:04 AM »
the higher the capaciance the lower the frequency and the more cut you get.
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

Tonewolf

  • Junior Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 42
What would you use?
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2005, 04:26:52 PM »
What size has the best sound with Apaches?

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
Which cap for tone pot with Apache set?
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2005, 05:24:10 PM »
I guess it just depends if you use them or not, if you don't you'll get a stronger tone by leaving them out of circuit, or make yourself a no load tone pot. I've got .022mf in mine, wokrs form me.
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

FELINEGUITARS

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 6609
  • London & Southeast's Number 1 BKP stockist
    • http://www.felineguitars.com
Which cap for tone pot with Apache set?
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2005, 07:23:40 PM »
I like to use a 0.022 myself - gets some nice "growl" when you back it off which I find very usable...

The 0.047 gets too "wooly" sounding for me

But that is just my ears - caps are dirt cheap - experiment!!

Or use a push /pull pot and have both with the facility to switch between them
www.felineguitars.com - repairs & custom built
Great fretwork!
Buy your BKPs & Earvana from ME!

Calum_Barrow

  • Junior Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Which cap for tone pot with Apache set?
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2005, 09:20:28 PM »
If you can't decide, run both a .047 and a .022 through a SPDT or push/pull. I'm doing that on my double neck im building (with Bareknuckles, of course :) ), as the woods might make the apaches too trebley, plus it gives me more versatility.
Having said that though, the standard for strats tends to be .022 (at least to my knowledge)

Tonewolf

  • Junior Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Hmmm but...
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2005, 08:30:40 PM »
The "New" Eric Johnson Strat is setup with a .1 - So how it sounds with Apaches will be a mystery until I get my set.

5F6-A

  • Lightweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 581
Which cap for tone pot with Apache set?
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2005, 06:23:54 PM »
I'm going to install Hovland's 47nF. They are special for Teles and Strats so I guess my Start clone with underwound Apaches will benefit from those.
Talking about Hovland; they are expensive ( for caps that is ) but many people think guitars caps can't get any better than those.

I'll let keep you posted !! ;)
Why waste your breath moaning at the crowds? Nothing can be done to stop the shouting; if every tongue was still, the stones and rocks themselves would start to sing.

tremblox

  • Junior Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Which cap for tone pot with Apache set?
« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2006, 10:28:26 PM »
I use a cap combination to get around 15 nF with the Apaches (together with 250K linear tone pots). I use Philips polyprop caps which are the best seounding I've found. I have used Hovland, Jensens etc (paper-in-oil) but basically found that they gave me a more "muffled" sound which wasn't too my taste.

Actually since a fortnight I've been using Stellartone ToneStylers with my APaches with very nice results indeed. Very spendy tho.

http://www.stellartone.com

cheers,
           tremblox