Username: Password:

Author Topic: Stereo cables, effects loops etc.  (Read 2115 times)

richardjmorgan

  • Bantamweight
  • **
  • Posts: 161
Stereo cables, effects loops etc.
« on: January 31, 2012, 01:49:17 PM »
Here's a question for you all: If I'm running pedals in my amp's effects loop, is it feasible, in order to avoid having a cable from the loop's send to the first pedal's input, then from the last pedal's output to the loop return, to wire two jack sockets to a stereo jack and put them in a little pedal-sized enclosure, at either end, then run patch cables between the boxes and the appropriate input/outputs, and just have one stereo cable between the two boxes, thus minimising cables trailing across the room/stage? Seems to me like it ought to work but I'm not sure if I've overlooked anything (would the signal going in two different directions through the two "sides" of the stereo cable, for example?) \

Anyway, provided I've explained that coherently enough, would be much appreciated if anyone who's not a total electronics idiot could tell me whether this would work or not.

Cheers,

R.

HTH AMPS

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5649
    • HTH AMPS
Re: Stereo cables, effects loops etc.
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2012, 02:05:31 PM »
what you propose would indeed work, but it seems like a lot of work for very little benefit - just use some cable ties on the two existing mono cables if you want to reduce clutter.

psy

  • Featherweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 432
    • Me singing & guitaring
Re: Stereo cables, effects loops etc.
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2012, 02:16:22 PM »
Another option (albeit pricier) to cable ties would be to use braided sleeving.  That's what I've done with the three cables (input, send, return) I send to my amp.  It's turner them in to one quite neat super cable :)
Cold Sweat set in Mockingbird NJ Classic > Boss GT6 > Sansamp PSA > VHT 2/90/2 > Zilla 2x12 cab > =D

richardjmorgan

  • Bantamweight
  • **
  • Posts: 161
Re: Stereo cables, effects loops etc.
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2012, 05:36:38 PM »
Another option (albeit pricier) to cable ties would be to use braided sleeving.  That's what I've done with the three cables (input, send, return) I send to my amp.  It's turner them in to one quite neat super cable :)
Quite like this idea! Any suggestion of where to get this stuff?

(I'm also looking to run a cable from my wireless receiver on top of my amp to the board and from the board to the amp input, so there's actually four cables. I just didn't want to overcomplicate things in my initial explanation.)

ToneMonkey

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2230
Re: Stereo cables, effects loops etc.
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2012, 08:59:47 PM »
Another option (albeit pricier) to cable ties would be to use braided sleeving.  That's what I've done with the three cables (input, send, return) I send to my amp.  It's turner them in to one quite neat super cable :)
Quite like this idea! Any suggestion of where to get this stuff?

(I'm also looking to run a cable from my wireless receiver on top of my amp to the board and from the board to the amp input, so there's actually four cables. I just didn't want to overcomplicate things in my initial explanation.)

I have an old car brading kit in my shed (just one of the cheap slip over type things - more fors show than actually brading hoses). I've been debating using it when I move house in a couple of weeks, but I should have a load left over. I'm trying to declutter, so if there's some left you're welcome to it.
Advice worth what you just paid for it.

richardjmorgan

  • Bantamweight
  • **
  • Posts: 161
Re: Stereo cables, effects loops etc.
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2012, 09:24:05 AM »
Another option (albeit pricier) to cable ties would be to use braided sleeving.  That's what I've done with the three cables (input, send, return) I send to my amp.  It's turner them in to one quite neat super cable :)
Quite like this idea! Any suggestion of where to get this stuff?

(I'm also looking to run a cable from my wireless receiver on top of my amp to the board and from the board to the amp input, so there's actually four cables. I just didn't want to overcomplicate things in my initial explanation.)
Awesome cheers!

I have an old car brading kit in my shed (just one of the cheap slip over type things - more fors show than actually brading hoses). I've been debating using it when I move house in a couple of weeks, but I should have a load left over. I'm trying to declutter, so if there's some left you're welcome to it.