Username: Password:

Author Topic: 0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?  (Read 21470 times)

silentrage

  • Featherweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 306
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« on: December 31, 2007, 10:28:16 AM »
Anyone who's used the program have recommendations on what kind of hardware I would need for a nice 0 latency setup that also delivers good enough signal for recording with Guitar Rig?
I've been able to get it to around 8 ms in/out for a 16 ms total, by tweaking all the asio settings.

but somehow it feels like a lot more delay than 1/60 of a second because even when I play 8th at just over 100 bpm there's a distinct delay and I'd image it to be a total PITA to overdub anything fast like this.

sgmypod

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3765
  • Truly bad since 1972
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2007, 10:36:13 AM »
don't know what your soundcard is etc...(everything is effected by that and how much memory etc, whats running at the time, version of drivers)

try lowering sampling rate to 48khz or 44 and bitrate to 16bit

But ignoring all that for a mo try asio4all....can sometimes squeeze extra out of card...read destructions carefully to get best out of it
Autotune My Arse

Crawler,nailbomb & Ltd Ed Emeralds, apache, now riff raff..EX- N/bomb, IT, Mquee

silentrage

  • Featherweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 306
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2007, 11:28:33 AM »
Quote from: sgmypod
don't know what your soundcard is etc...(everything is effected by that and how much memory etc, whats running at the time, version of drivers)

try lowering sampling rate to 48khz or 44 and bitrate to 16bit

But ignoring all that for a mo try asio4all....can sometimes squeeze extra out of card...read destructions carefully to get best out of it


well, perhaps I should've given more detail about my situation.

I'm running on some generic on-board sound card right now, using ASIO4ALL of course, with settings tweaked to the point where any lower sampling it would break up the signal, but the delay is still noticable.

I am pondering purchasing an audio interface, something like M-AUdio fast-track, but a mate told me it's nearly impossible to get 0 latency unless I take out a mortage and get a fast computer and a high-end audio- interface, something like a PRO-TOOL hardware.

So I would like to know if anyone has tried the program with an audio interface and see what kind of latency is possible at what cost.

sgmypod

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3765
  • Truly bad since 1972
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2007, 11:47:39 AM »
Nah don't need a mortgage, also don't need 0 latencya decent f/wire or pci souncard that can get you 8 or below in and out will do you fine, the reason your getting latency at 8 at the minute is the setup...it says 8 latency but will be far higher with an on board card(other system resources will effect it)
Autotune My Arse

Crawler,nailbomb & Ltd Ed Emeralds, apache, now riff raff..EX- N/bomb, IT, Mquee

sgmypod

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3765
  • Truly bad since 1972
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2007, 11:49:14 AM »
so next question what speed is the pc..what memory etc..and what f/x unit you using
Autotune My Arse

Crawler,nailbomb & Ltd Ed Emeralds, apache, now riff raff..EX- N/bomb, IT, Mquee

silentrage

  • Featherweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 306
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2007, 12:17:37 PM »
I have the program running on this cr@p amd 64 3000+ and 1 g ddr400 ram right now.

but i'm over at my folks for xmas, when I get home I will try the same setup on my own box which is AM2 4200+ dual core with 4 gigs of DDRII 800mhz ram, which I think should sort it out, and it would be ideal to shut down everything except Guitar Rig and whatever recording/mixing software I"m using correct? (probably cubase sx 3 or something.)

WHat do you think I'll get out of that, possibly closer to the actual displayed 8 ms in out?

as for FX chain I tested what i consider a pretty bare bone setup. Input > Twang Reverb Preamp > any distortion ie. demon > 2 x     4x12 UK80s cab both micced with Dynamic 57   > output

sgmypod

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3765
  • Truly bad since 1972
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2007, 12:31:43 PM »
should do but still worth investing in a better(non onboard) S/card or firewire interface for example
http://www.dv247.com/invt/43353/  these work quite well especially with a spec comp like you have..has effects amps etc

or http://www.dv247.com/invt/2062/  is a straight pci s/card great recording and cheap, mate has one and on a 2100amd 512ram was getting 8 or less so yours should fly(and he's a very fast player no latency could be heard)

or a bit more you can get the 192 bit version or more still the firewire http://www.dv247.com/invt/19660/

all good at the cheaper end without getting a mortgage and give great recordings
Autotune My Arse

Crawler,nailbomb & Ltd Ed Emeralds, apache, now riff raff..EX- N/bomb, IT, Mquee

silentrage

  • Featherweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 306
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2007, 01:22:46 PM »
Thanks for the link, Firewire card + MAudio Firewire sounds like a surefire plan to get ultra low latency.

I would like to try the pod and return it to the store if it doesn't work to my satisfaction. But that's gonna be hard seeing as how I presently reside in China and they don't do the whole money-back guarantee thing.

sgmypod

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3765
  • Truly bad since 1972
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2007, 01:57:02 PM »
pods are ok but s/card firewire are better
Autotune My Arse

Crawler,nailbomb & Ltd Ed Emeralds, apache, now riff raff..EX- N/bomb, IT, Mquee

silentrage

  • Featherweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 306
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2007, 02:03:03 PM »
I've read a bunch of reviews for the Audiophile unit and it seems that besides the rave reviews, there's the occasional ones that say it is plagued with driver problems up to the point of dropping dead all together or having to reinstall driver everytime you want to use it. Sounds a bit scary, what's your experience with it?

and what's the deal with it un-balanced connections?
What does that actually hinder?

sgmypod

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3765
  • Truly bad since 1972
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2007, 02:16:38 PM »
balanced is supposed to have less noise, my experience is its great as long as your using xp(havn't tried vista yet with his)
Autotune My Arse

Crawler,nailbomb & Ltd Ed Emeralds, apache, now riff raff..EX- N/bomb, IT, Mquee

Oli

  • Lightweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 914
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2007, 02:34:52 PM »
My advice: don't get a unit that is Firewire, get a USB 2.0 interface, it'll be cheaper, and is actually faster than the Firewire 400 standard. Also, unless you're using the 8 ins and outs on the unit all at once, you won't even be getting close to the theoretical top speed of the USB (or Firewire) standard :)
Nailbomb, VHII, Warpig 7, MQ, Black Dog, 10th Anniversary

sgmypod

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3765
  • Truly bad since 1972
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #12 on: December 31, 2007, 02:42:33 PM »
yeah missed out the usb2's they kinda imbetween the firewire and pci for price
Autotune My Arse

Crawler,nailbomb & Ltd Ed Emeralds, apache, now riff raff..EX- N/bomb, IT, Mquee

Adam.M

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 1109
    • http://www.healeyamps.co.uk
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #13 on: December 31, 2007, 05:28:11 PM »
Actually, i wouldnt go near USB for audio gear, theres a reason the best outboard soundcards are firewire, it's just more stable!
www.healeyamps.co.uk

PRS Cu 24, Carlsbro 60TC, Line 6 AM4, Dunlop DB01

Peter Antal

  • Featherweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 438
0 Latency setup with guitar rig for PC?
« Reply #14 on: December 31, 2007, 06:00:05 PM »
Quote from: sgmypod
balanced is supposed to have less noise

The manual of my card says "Balanced signals provide an additional +6dB of gain on the inputs and are recommended for best audio performance, although unbalanced cables are fine for most applications. If you’re having problems with hum and noise or just want the best possible performance, use balanced cables. (...) WARNING: Do NOT use balanced audio cables when connecting balanced outputs to unbalanced inputs. Doing so can increase noise level and introduce hum. Use balanced (3-conductor) cables ONLY if you are connecting balanced inputs to balanced outputs."