Username: Password:

Author Topic: Replacing PCB mounted jacks?  (Read 4157 times)

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
Replacing PCB mounted jacks?
« on: September 01, 2005, 11:28:49 AM »
More stuff that needs doing before I get a new guitar or whatever!
So I had a bit of a jam yesterday. A few times during this jam, my sound cut out. This is because of a problem with the cheap input jacks - wiggling the cable around normally fixes the problem, and it doesnt nnormally happen again for the rest of the time spent playing, but it happened 2-3 times yesterday. I want to replace them with better quality input jacks, but it looks hard to do as they look like they are circuit board mounted. Anyone got a guide or anything on changing them? I dont know of any amp techs in the area, so I would like to be able to do it myself really! Oh, and where would I get the correct jacks for it, and which are the best quality?

cheers!

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
Replacing PCB mounted jacks?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2005, 11:38:10 AM »
What amp is it?

Sometimes there's not much option and you have to just order a replacement from the manufacturer. There's lots of differences in the mounting points of PCB jacks. They're evil :evil:
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
Replacing PCB mounted jacks?
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2005, 11:45:55 AM »
oh right, its a Fender Hot Rod deluxe. I dont really want the same jacks as these, I've only had the amp about a year and theyv started being funny! I'l try to get a pic but it looks like they just have "pins" or something coming off them, which go straight down into holes the circuit board or something like that..

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
Replacing PCB mounted jacks?
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2005, 12:06:57 PM »
The problem is the spacing of the pins! You may have enough room to fit a standard jack (switchcraft from Tim will do).
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
Replacing PCB mounted jacks?
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2005, 12:11:53 PM »
ahh right! Any idea how I can find out? Would it be easier to "mod" it so the jack isnt mounted to the PCB, or is there no point/not enough space?

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
Replacing PCB mounted jacks?
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2005, 01:41:39 PM »
If there is room - then try and mod it, it's worth it -  if not it will have to be a like for loke replacement. I'm suprosed it's worn in a year though!  Have a look and see if you think you can fit one - make sure that it fits without touching the PCB though!
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
Replacing PCB mounted jacks?
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2005, 05:14:21 PM »
ok, according to this website, it looks like its gonna be a bit more complicated than a simple swap

http://studentweb.eku.edu/justin_holton/inputjack.html

However, it looks like I only have to solder 2 wires if I get an Open Circuit mono jack.. so maybe its not THAT hard?! But for some reason, he doesnt recommend this.. why not?!

 :cry:

R/2e

  • Bantamweight
  • **
  • Posts: 210
    • http://www.ron2e.com
Replacing PCB mounted jacks?
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2005, 10:48:28 AM »
The easiest way to remove such jacks from the PCB is to use de-soldering braid. I don't like his suggestion of heating each lug and pulling! Most tricky.

Having owned and gigged a Hot Rod Deluxe regularly for eight years or so I've never had any problems with the jacks at all by the way. Are you sure the jacks are the problem and not the cables you use. The reason, which I've mentioned before on this forum, is that US stuff is imperial, a 1/4 inch jack is just that, equivalent to 6.35mm. A non US cable is likely to be metric and have 6mm plugs. As you can see the two don't necessarily match up. Make absolutely sure you're testing with a decent quality US made cable before jumping to any conclusions about the jack sockets on the amp.
Just 'cos you're paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get you

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
Replacing PCB mounted jacks?
« Reply #8 on: September 02, 2005, 06:52:34 PM »
^good idea. I'm using a "monterey" cable. What US brand would you recommend me to get?

Cheers!