Username: Password:

Author Topic: Bias probe advice?  (Read 1897 times)

witeter

  • Lightweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 569
    • Flailhead
Bias probe advice?
« on: December 07, 2012, 11:02:32 PM »
So with christmas coming up I am hoping to get some new powertubes for my JSX. I have decided to go for four KT77s. The thing is that I am hoping to bias the amp myself, the peavey has some biasing points + pot at the back but I have heard that its not very reliable-so im looking at possibly getting one of the products sold by Eurotubes .
http://www.eurotubes.com/eurotubes-Bias-Probe-Pro-One-current-watts-voltage.htm
Has anyne bought either their cheap or more expensive bias probes? are they any good? cheers!

Toe-Knee

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 1155
    • DIY Audio
Re: Bias probe advice?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 11:25:15 PM »
I've not used either but ive heard nothing but good things about the pro one.

If you are handy with a  soldering iron tubetown do a small kit that will do the same thing with a multimeter.

I built one for Brow a month or so ago and it worked as expected with no issues.

I think e-amptone also sell a similar product to the Eurotubes one but in the EU
Please visit and share my guitar gear & DIY Blog
http://WWW.BACKLINE.TK
Non Biased Guitar Forum
http://fret.boards.net

witeter

  • Lightweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 569
    • Flailhead
Re: Bias probe advice?
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2012, 09:49:10 AM »
Thanks Toe-Knee! had a look at e-amptone but the website is lacking in descriptions regarding their products, at least with eurotubes they spell it out and help you understand what it does,etc (for a bias novice like me anyways)-thanks for your help, will most likely get the pro one :-)

gordiji

  • Lightweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 812
Re: Bias probe advice?
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2012, 04:39:48 PM »
I bought the cheapest tube sockets & multimeter from them with my new tubes of course. It was the first time i'd biased an amp and my knowledge is 'o' level physics at best. I had to go inside the amp to access the trim pot  but simply followed the instructions on their website and did everything slowly and attentively.
My amp sounded at least as good after and 2 years on i've had no problems. Maybe time to do it again.
The absence of a good local tech was my motivation for doing it myself.     

witeter

  • Lightweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 569
    • Flailhead
Re: Bias probe advice?
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2012, 08:48:06 AM »
Thanks gordiji, will look into that as well as i already have a multimeter

ridner

  • Junior Flyweight
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Facebook Page
Re: Bias probe advice?
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2013, 12:42:47 PM »
the $25 probe paired w/ a multimeter works like a charm.  did a bias on my own for the 1st time over the wknd and had no issues.  thanks Eurotubes!

witeter

  • Lightweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 569
    • Flailhead
Re: Bias probe advice?
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2013, 09:57:37 PM »
Cheers man will defo look into that, in the meantime i have sent my amp for a health check + revalve, so in this instance i am getting someone else to do the dirty work :-)