Username: Password:

Author Topic: Recording to computer  (Read 4465 times)

Ratrod

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5264
Recording to computer
« on: June 05, 2005, 04:32:22 PM »
I have just spent the afternoon in the studio recording a clip. I have it on tape and it turned out quite nicely. Now, how can I get this onto my computer?

I have connected the tape deck to the line in on my computer. I tried recording it using Nero media player wich records it as MP3 but the input signal is too loud. The result is a distorted mush. I can't seem to get the input volume down.

Help please!
BKP user since 2004: early 7K Blackguard 50

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
Re: Recording to computer
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2005, 05:22:51 PM »
Quote from: Ratrod
I have just spent the afternoon in the studio recording a clip. I have it on tape and it turned out quite nicely. Now, how can I get this onto my computer?

I have connected the tape deck to the line in on my computer. I tried recording it using Nero media player wich records it as MP3 but the input signal is too loud. The result is a distorted mush. I can't seem to get the input volume down.

Help please!
Have you checked the recording level control on the volume control mixer, can't remember the name of it (I record on an Apple)......but if you go to properties you select recording, and turn the level of the line in down.
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

Ratrod

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5264
Recording to computer
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2005, 06:18:57 PM »
I tried that. It's actually very low. However the Nero Media player doesn't respond to the mixer. Even when I completely mute the line in it still records too load. I'm sure I've got it in the right input, it is the line in and not the mic in.
BKP user since 2004: early 7K Blackguard 50

Ratrod

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5264
Recording to computer
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2005, 06:24:00 PM »
The problem may also lie in the fact that it's pretty bass heavy. Maybe I should re-record it with a different mic position. I used a mixing desk with all EQ's flat.
BKP user since 2004: early 7K Blackguard 50

willo

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 1512
Recording to computer
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2005, 07:09:57 PM »
im not taking the piss here, but whats the output level of the tape deck like?
The large print giveth, and the small print taketh away...

Ratrod

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5264
Recording to computer
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2005, 07:21:50 PM »
I recorded it keeping th VU meter out of the red. Maybe the output of the deck is too loud. I'm gonna try to hook up my Walkman (need another conversion jack) so I can adjust the input to a desired level.
BKP user since 2004: early 7K Blackguard 50

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
Recording to computer
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2005, 08:06:22 PM »
Look forward to hearing the clip!

Good luck....


You could try using the windows sound recorder, then convert the wave file to mp3 :?
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

Ratrod

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5264
Recording to computer
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2005, 09:45:50 PM »
Thanks for the tips. I'll try some different things soon. Not tonight 'cause I'll end up throwing the whole damn computer out the window. If all else fails, I'll try it on a mate's computer.
BKP user since 2004: early 7K Blackguard 50

lepersmeesa

  • Featherweight
  • ***
  • Posts: 478
Recording to computer
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2005, 10:22:43 AM »
check the cables you are using, if you have a noisy lead then this will not help. Also line out is sending the signal at its maximum volume so maybe go out of the headphones, it maybe slighlty quieter. Other then that, there are programs you can download which clear up tape hiss. You would be suprised how well they work.
I am Ted Theodore Logan...

www.myspace.com/thesafetyfire

Ratrod

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 5264
Recording to computer
« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2005, 11:39:25 AM »
I've worked it out. I plugged in my Walkman. It works.

I'm posting the clip. It's a bit big though.
BKP user since 2004: early 7K Blackguard 50