Username: Password:

Author Topic: disconnecting tone pot?  (Read 10911 times)

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2005, 06:51:57 PM »
Quote from: PhilKing
Fitting a .022mfd would let more treble through than the normal .047, but if you have tried it without a capacitor, then there is something else causing it.  The tone at the neck is different to the tone at the bridge because of the string movement being greater, so there is more output from the pickups.  

What settings have you got on your amp? If the bass is at 10 this might also be a problem, as the neck will push out more bass than the bridge.

A couple of other things you might want to check are that the pickups are the right way round (the red dot is the bridge, if the dot is not there, then the higher DC is the bridge).  If this is the case, then try lowering the neck pickup a bit.  I have a neck mule and can get good definition out of it.


hmm ok.. the tone pot for the neck pickup has NOTHING attatched to it, so I guess its letting the "max" amount of treble through? I dont use loads of bass on my amp/pedals as I hate muddyness! I double checked the way I put my pickups in, the one with the red dot is definately in the bridge bit! Also, the pickup is flush with the surround so I dont think its overly high or anything but I might try lowering it some more  :?  This is really frustrating as no one else seems to have had this problem with their neck Mules..

PhilKing

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3655
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2005, 07:06:30 PM »
I think we need Tim at this point.  You have tried all the things I can think of.  Perhaps Tim can shed some light on this.
So many pickups, so little time

Steve-Mr Pig 2U

  • Guest
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2005, 07:11:32 PM »
Quote from: _tom_

hmm ok.. the tone pot for the neck pickup has NOTHING attatched to it, so I guess its letting the "max" amount of treble through? I dont use loads of bass on my amp/pedals as I hate muddyness! I double checked the way I put my pickups in, the one with the red dot is definately in the bridge bit! Also, the pickup is flush with the surround so I dont think its overly high or anything but I might try lowering it some more  :?  This is really frustrating as no one else seems to have had this problem with their neck Mules..


Have you tried raising the hight of the neck? Hand wound pickups are very hight sensitive, thats the only thing I can think of.

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2005, 07:11:38 PM »
yep, that would be a good idea  :lol:  maybe the wood in my guitar isnt suited to a neck mule for whatever reason  :? I'm reluctant to send it back for a different model or whatever because I only just got the new covers on! I guess it could be my amp still though, it can be pretty bassy/muddy at times.

Steve-Mr Pig 2U

  • Guest
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2005, 07:15:10 PM »
Quote from: _tom_
yep, that would be a good idea  :lol:  maybe the wood in my guitar isnt suited to a neck mule for whatever reason  :? I'm reluctant to send it back for a different model or whatever because I only just got the new covers on!


Didn't you like it before you got it covered? read my post above your last. The wood shouldn't be causing a problem.

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #20 on: August 24, 2005, 07:17:12 PM »
ohh they were allready covered, I just got the black ones put on instead of gold. oh and surely wouldnt raising it make it more muddy?

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #21 on: August 24, 2005, 08:58:45 PM »
usually, but hang on - has it ever sounded right???


Check you've got them in the right way too.....bridge in the neck position won't help!
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #22 on: August 24, 2005, 09:16:10 PM »
Quote from: HJM
usually, but hang on - has it ever sounded right???


Check you've got them in the right way too.....bridge in the neck position won't help!


hahah to be honest I really cant remember! I definately put the one with the red dot label thing in the bridge position and the other in the neck obviously..

Steve-Mr Pig 2U

  • Guest
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2005, 09:30:18 PM »
I can remember you saying that you liked the neck more than the bridge last time! Play around with the hight of the pickups a bit and if that doesnt work it would be worth changing the electronics in your guitar.

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #24 on: August 24, 2005, 09:35:10 PM »
I've had electronics start to sound muddy after a few pickup swaps, they get overheated I guess!
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #25 on: August 24, 2005, 09:37:34 PM »
Quote from: HJM
I've had electronics start to sound muddy after a few pickup swaps, they get overheated I guess!


ahha! Looks like an excuse to swap out the Epiphone electrics for something better! Oh yeah, I remember that thread Steve haha! I think I changed my mind but who knows, I'm weird/picky when it comes to tone as you can probably tell  :lol: I have another question suprise suprise...is there any difference in quality between the pots that are sold by BKP, and the ones in the official Gibson "pack"?

cheers!

HJM

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 2330
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #26 on: August 24, 2005, 09:47:25 PM »
I bet they're the same CTS pots, and switchcraft switches, only cheaper from BKP!
Apache,VHII,Emerald,Nailbomb,MiracleMan,StormyMonday,BlackDog,Trilogy,Mothersmilk,Sultans+Sinner

PhilKing

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3655
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #27 on: August 25, 2005, 03:56:24 AM »
There is the old bad joint possibility too!  Did you check that there is no loss across the joint?  I know that this is clutching at straws almost,  but you could try swapping the volume pots over, or even just soldering the neck pickup straight to a jack socket.  You would soon know if there was a problem with the pickup or the electronics then.
So many pickups, so little time

_tom_

  • Middleweight
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #28 on: August 25, 2005, 09:01:33 AM »
Quote from: PhilKing
There is the old bad joint possibility too!  Did you check that there is no loss across the joint?  I know that this is clutching at straws almost,  but you could try swapping the volume pots over, or even just soldering the neck pickup straight to a jack socket.  You would soon know if there was a problem with the pickup or the electronics then.


soldering the neck pickup to a jack socket - How will I do that?

cheers!

PhilKing

  • Welterweight
  • ****
  • Posts: 3655
disconnecting tone pot?
« Reply #29 on: August 25, 2005, 12:43:30 PM »
Disconnect the pickup from the pot first, then for 4 core wiring, just take the red to the tip tab and the black & screen to the centre tab.  Make sure the green and white are soldered together.

For 2 core, the centre wire goes to the tip tab and the screen to the centre tab.

if you don't have a spare jack socket, you can do it with either a lead with a jack at one end, and just wire at the other (when you are doing a lot this is the quickest way, I have one with aligator clips to help me check pickups before I put them in), or you can tape the wires to the jack itself (the screen goes to the barrel and the live to the tip).

This will bypass all the electronics in the guitar.
So many pickups, so little time